Custom number device attribute returning null instead of zero

1) Give a description of the problem
First off, I’m very new to both webcore and smartthings. I customized the device handler for the multi-sensor to add some additional attributes. All that is working fine and I can access the new attributes in webcore. I have a question though about one part of the functionality. The attributes are defined as follows:

attribute "motionAverage", "number"
attribute "motionCount", "number"

My question is, when I set these attributes to be zero, webcore does not see them as zero but instead as null. It seems strange that I can’t set a “number” attribute to zero and have it be returned as a number in webcore.

It’s not really a big deal since I can use int and float as my code shows, but I am wondering, am I doing something wrong or is this expected behavior?

2) What is the expected behavior?
For the attribute to return 0

3) What is happening/not happening?
It’s returning null instead of 0

4) Post a Green Snapshot of the pistonimage

5) Attach any logs (From ST IDE and by turning logging level to Full)

2/10/2019, 8:43:05 PM +232ms
+135ms	║dth:
+157ms	║dth:
+181ms	║force: 0
+204ms	║force: 0

2/10/2019, 8:42:05 PM +230ms
+360ms	║dth: 0.23792630302838122
+386ms	║dth: 41
+412ms	║force: 0.23792630302838122
+447ms	║force: 41

This is probably not what you want to hear, but I learned a long time ago to never program using zeros. Depending on the programming language, it can be interpreted as a 0, as null, as blank, or even (not set) here in webCoRE.

Never using zero in any programming language seems unreasonable. It’s all about understand how the language will treat falsy comparisons, and usually there is a way to still tell exactly what the value is if you need to know.