Developing Custom Apps//Routines - WebCore vs. Groovy vs. New Api

I’ve been using WebCore for a couple years now and really felt like it might be a cleaner implementation if I moved my apps to Groovy. Now, I see ST has a new API, which is likely more involved than I want to get. Also, looks like new API executes in the cloud always. Somehow I thought local execution would be an advantage.

Is WebCore going to continue to be supported in ST? I have a hard time telling where ST is going…

So, what architecture (if you call it that) is everyone using to customize their setups? Should I dive further into WebCore? Or, take the leap on this new API. Suggestions, experiences and recommendations are much appreciated! I’m just not sure what’s next.

Just a quick comment about cloud vs. local…all your pistons execute in the cloud now. So, that wouldn’t be any different that with the new API.

Thanks Ryan. Is there any advantage to coding in Groovy for local execution? Not sure how long that will be supported. It seems that I either stick with WC so that I’m not investing huge time in the new API. That said, is there any benefit in the new API vs WebCore?

You can’t code in Groovy for local execution on ST either. The only things that runs locally are some parts of smart lighting and parts of SHM. That is not considering the ADT parts of the ADT+ST panel…that’s different. But any custom code (DTH or smartapps) always execute in the cloud.

So, is WebCore the preferred way to customize my experience?