First Piston - simple presence test

Noob here trying my hand at my first piston. Here are my parts: 2 smartphones set up as presence sensors and a switch that controls a hot water circulating pump. I have set up an automation in Smartthings to turn the pump off at 10pm. I want a piston to test the presence of the smartphones beginning at 4:15am and turn the pump on if either smartphone is present but turn the pump back off when both are not present (when we leave for work). Then turn the pump back on when either of us return from work. Sounds simple, but I am having difficulty getting started with the overall learning curve.

Hi @Kcrane
Something like this would be a start:

IF time happens daily AT 04:15
 AND
IF any presence Sensor 1, sensor 2 is present (either one is home)
 then 
Turn on switch

IF  presence sensor 1 CHANGES TO not present (One is leaving the other already left)
 AND
IF presense sensor 2 is NOT present
Then Turn OFF switch

IF  presence sensor 2 CHANGES TO not present (One is leaving the other already left)
 AND
IF presense sensor 1 is NOT present
Then Turn OFF switch

IF any presence sensor 1, 2 changes to ON (one of them back home)
 Then
Turn ON switch 1

The diffuculty is presence sensors can only be TRIGGER with “CHANGES”
I believe this should work well…

Thank you for the guidance. Does this piston constantly monitor the status of the presence sensors, or do I have to set up some sort of loop to periodically check the status of the sensors?

Well it’s a tricky one ;)))
it does and it does not:)

Meaning, your sensors are connected to the Webcore. So, any changes are reported back. BUT with the presence sensor, the delay can be up to 2-3 minutes sometimes. The good part is, your piston doesn’t have to execute every minute. It only executes when a change happens.

If you want your piston to check on the phones constantly, you can use timers.

Execute
TIMER( every minute)
 do 
 IF any sensor is NOT PRESENT
 then
do this do that