[newbie] Setting a variable?

Hi. I’m trying to make a piston that sends an “open” command to a roller blind, but if it was activated less than 30 seconds ago (and the blinds are still running), then instead it should send a “stop” command.

I was thinking on using a variable that turns 1 and after 30 seconds it goes back to 0, but I’m really new in webCoRE and I’m not finding a way to set it, when I try to add a new task that sets a variable (the one that says location Set variable…) I get an “invalid variable” red text and a drop down menu with no variables (I expected I’d just type its name here).

This variable should only work within this piston, but I read that local variables are reset every time a piston is started, is that right? Should I use a global one instead?

Thanks,
Rodrigo

I was able to create a global variable from the panel on the right and actually it’s better than a local one because it lets both up and down buttons work as stop if the motor is working in any direction.
Still I’d be glad if anyone could help me improve this piston, any recommendations are appreciated.

Thanks,
Rodrigo

The general rule of thumb is to use local variables whenever possible. They write instantly, and are immediately accessible. On the other hand, if you use global variables, they are not written until the piston completes execution. This leads me to think that line 26 will never write ‘true’, or if it does, it will only be for a microsecond.

The other thing that needs attention is line 28 will never execute since after 30 seconds, the button will not be pushed. The solution to this aspect is to select that “With” statement, and set “Task Cancellation Policy” to never.

Thank you for your reply!
This piston is working but it’s too buggy, so I want to try the local variables. My problem is that I don’t know how to create a local variable. I only found the button to create a global variable (Sorry, I’m really new to this!)