Using One Thermostat to Control a Second One

Total Newbie…it took me a while to even get to where I am. I at least feel like I’m close?

1) Give a description of the problem
I’d like to use Thermostat 4 (no A/C) to “control”/“trigger” Thermostat 3 (no A/C).

2) What is the expected behavior?
When the temperature registered by Thermo 4 is below it’s setpoint, I want Thermo 3 to turn on and set its thermostat to Thermo 4’s, and then turn off when Thermo 4’s is at its setpoint. And then do it all over again, once Thermo 3 fires up again.

3) What is happening/not happening?
Not sure, Thermo 3 doesn’t seem to be reacting to the Thermo 4’s at all.

4) Post a Green Snapshot of the piston![image|45x37]![image|690x416]

5) Attach any logs (From [ST IDE]

and by turning logging level to Full)

You have multiple triggers (the lightening bolt on the left side). I believe you can only have 1 trigger per piston (or 1 trigger per IF statement). THis is because there can ONLY EVER BE 1 trigger true at any one time.

Try changing the triggers to conditions, and go from there.

I think you can split that 2nd half off into another IF statement to remedy that part.

I use less than or equal to in my pistons, and they are conditions, not triggers. I’m not sure why your less than is flagged as a trigger, but it is.

I’ll try this again from the start, trying to remedy the two points above (thanks…didn’t even notice the lightning bolts).

Just FYI, because I wasn’t sure how long it would take to verify the account, I monkeyed around last night before going to bed but after posting here, and this tweak seems to be working (I added a third thermostat). Not sure if it’s just Sinope, but I think the key is that I can’t turn the other thermostats “off”…I just need to set them “low”. Not sure why, but I don’t seem to be able to “wake” an “off” thermostat via the script? Just FYI in case someone else is struggling. I’ll go clean up the code.